can’t see the forest

Pretty Pictures from Portland, Oregon

Posted in Nature, Oregon, Photography by Curtis on 9/24/06

Here are some pictures I’ve taken, plus two from a friend, of the vicinity since obtaining my Oregonhood some 21 months ago. [If some of them don’t show up for you, just refresh.] The really awesome thing about this place is that none of what you see here is more than about seventy miles away from my neighborhood:

light-study-1.jpg

Ecola State Park, looking towards Cannon Beach, OR.

 

southofmthood.jpg

The summit of Mount Hood as viewed from the southern slope. This is only the tip of the mountain; the picture was taken from about 10,000 feet. Photo: Jarrett Lenox

 

gull.jpg

So innocent, and, well, gullible. Also at Ecola.

 

nehalem-sp-the-earth-turns-away-from-the-sun.jpg

The Earth turns away from the Sun as seen at Nehalem Beach. Don’t know what the black smudge is. UFO?

 

100_0253.JPG

100_0252.JPG

This and the preceding from Eagle Creek. Check out the tiny and rather lofty trail on the left-hand side of the top image; you can also see it in the lower picture, where my friend is backed against the cave wall. It would have been really scary to us flatlanders if it hadn’t been so entrancingly beautiful out there.

 

lindsey-walking-to-japan.jpg

It’s a long way to Tokyo from Rockaway Beach.

 

fromtentsouth.jpg

Looking down from the comfort of the tent, pitched near the summit of Mount Hood. Photo: Jarrett Lenox. You’ll not find me up there overnight, but, to his credit, the photographer is from Alabama, too. :-)

 

100_0305.JPG

Caught this guy hiding out in Forest Park near downtown Portland.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gracie said, on 9/24/06 at 1:17 pm

    Those are really quite breathtaking photos, Curt! I especially like the mysterious feel you get from looking at that first picture – what a beautiful place to live. Thanks for sharing these lovely gems.

    BTW, I like your new look! This has become one of my favorite blogs thanks to your well-written and informative articles. Keep up the great work.

  2. tellitlikeitis said, on 9/24/06 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks so much for your compliments. The feeling is mutual. :-)

    Yeah, it is sort of mysterious, isn’t it? That’s a good way to put it. And the thing is, it practically always looks like that out on the coast here. Even all summer long, when it practically doesn’t rain a drop here just on the other side of the Coastal Range, it’s almost invariably misty and cloudy out on the Oregon Coast. Sunny days are few and far between, and it’s always windy–very, very windy–no matter what. I grew up going to the beach at the Gulf of Mexico, when I went at all, and the coast here is so different. It’s awesome.

    Glad you liked the photos.

  3. peoplesgeography said, on 9/25/06 at 3:48 am

    Stunning pictures of a beautiful place and I echo Gracie’s sentiments :)

  4. Leland said, on 9/25/06 at 7:04 am

    Wow, amazing photographs!!!

  5. tellitlikeitis said, on 9/25/06 at 8:02 am

    Thanks, Leland! Howdy, and what brings you to this fair, brown page? :-)

  6. zilla said, on 9/25/06 at 10:23 am

    Curt, it is so considerate and humane of you to offer a bit of beauty and whimsy here. Thank you for letting my brain rest!

  7. Leland said, on 9/25/06 at 10:30 am

    Well I stumbled across this fair, brown page after doing a search for Dan Havely on google.com! You couldn’t imagine how suprised I was to see your name. Did you get my email?

  8. tellitlikeitis said, on 9/25/06 at 10:44 am

    Zilla,
    Your brain?? What about my brain???
    :-) Just kidding. Yeah, it’s good to mix it up a bit, I think. Glad you liked the pictures. I also really liked your post about PV testing, I thought it was insightful and a good point but, umm…being of my sex, I didn’t want to jump on that boat at the time. :-/

  9. tellitlikeitis said, on 9/25/06 at 11:01 am

    Leland,

    Yes I certainly did get your email…it made my fair brown day. Well, actually it’s mostly blue outside right now…
    :-)

  10. Josh Vanschoiack said, on 1/11/09 at 3:03 pm

    Jarrett- give me a call at Mom and Dad’s- pics are great


Leave a Reply

