can’t see the forest

Pope Opens Intercultural Dialog With Another Apology Speech

Posted in Christianity, Islam, pope, Social and Politics by Curtis on 9/25/06

I can’t believe this.

The BBC reports today that His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI has held at his residence a meeting with envoys from 21 mostly Muslim nations and a delegate from the Muslim League. Just to give a speech to them.

This is the Pope who has insisted in his apologies for his Regensburg statement that the true intent of his remarks was to foster intercultural dialog. And so the dialog begins.

The envoy from Indonesia, the world’s largest Muslim nation, said that the delegation was generally quite surprised that there was no dialog. The Pope gave another speech of explanation and another apology, stressing respect for Muslims, and there was a brief token greeting given to each of the envoys, and that was it. Finito.

The Iraqi envoy—how quaint—said that he felt it was time to move on. Well, I don’t disagree with that. Especially since there are much more important things going on in, you know, Iraq. And Palestine. Hopefully this is the last you’ll see me blogging about Popisms.

But I cannot resist pointing out the ridiculousness of this gesture. Let’s get that intercultural discussion rolling while we’re all here in Rome, capisce? Since we’re going to respect Muslims from now on, and they’ve come all this way?

I don’t mean to attack His Holiness ad hominem, but this is the pontiff whom, upon his ascension, rather quickly demoted a well-respected and prominent Church authority on Islam to an office job in Egypt. Given what’s happened since, I can’t imagine that John Paul II would be smiling about any of this.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. zilla said, on 9/25/06 at 5:35 pm

    I won’t be offended if you moderate your comments and choose to delete this. Frankly, since he arrived on the scene, I’ve been referring to him as Pope Benedickhead. None of this surprises me any more than the fact of bears pooping in the woods surprises me. He is Catholic, after all, and he is of the highest rank in Catholicism.

    There are two ways to get out of that faith with your “soul intact,” you must be either a nun or a monk or an innocent parishoner. Everyone else is a bloody politician, and when I say “bloody,” I mean bloody in the American sense, not the British sense.

    When the Church falls, I won’t shed a tear.

  2. tellitlikeitis said, on 9/25/06 at 6:12 pm

    Don’t forget excommunication. You can get out pretty much intact that way, too.

    No censorship here; you might offend someone, but you won’t offend me. I only moderate for spam.

    I would say that, from its inception, the Roman Catholic Church has been the most Orwellian institution on the planet. I’ll stop there, unless anyone wants a painfully long and well-cited explanation.

  3. nomdebplume said, on 9/28/06 at 7:53 pm

    Doesn’t she have anything better to do? Hey, the kids are sleeping and Bocelli is playing on my new laptop speakers, I’m in a Pope-comment-leaving mood… :-)

    Would it surprise you to know that, for the most part, I consider the Catholic Church a cult? (Not something that I admit in conversation often.) And, while I wouldn’t go as far as to call the Pope a
    D*ckhead, neither would I refer to him as “His Holiness”. Nor would I ever call a Priest “Father”.

    Maybe this stems partly from the fact that I am not Catholic, but as a Christian, I resent anything that brings a person further away from a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, and the organization of the Catholic Church does this too skillfully. I reserve the terms “His Holiness” and “Father” for those who deserve them: God, Jesus… and my actual father.

  4. tellitlikeitis said, on 9/29/06 at 12:39 am

    You know something, that doesn’t surprise me at all. I think you know a shakedown operation when you see one. Insert gold, receive forgiveness. That’s not how it works, is it?

    I’m not a Christian; but I, too, resent anything that brings a Christian further away from a personal relationship with Christ. It just makes good sense.

    This is analogous to the reason I really don’t like political parties very much. In our day and time, particularly (though it’s been true to some extent since…gosh, I don’t know exactly when), they are serving the primary purpose of bringing Americans further from their Constitution, both of them. They’re doing it through indoctrination. The theory has become: insert vote, receive meaningful change. But it’s not working out as it was (arguably) intended. The reasons are the same: there is too much money to be made and to be hoarded.

  5. nomdebplume said, on 9/29/06 at 3:05 pm

    Ahh… your wisdom is showing, Curt:

    “For the love of money is at the root of all kinds of evil.” 1 Timothy 6:10


Leave a Reply

