can’t see the forest

Suspended Animation

Posted in Blogging, Personal by Curtis on 10/16/06

This weblog is about to enter a state of suspended animation for approximately one week.

NO QUESTIONS!

Just kidding. :-) Actually I am going back to Alabama, back to the cotton fields from whence I sprang twenty-six years ago. I haven’t seen my family and some old friends in about two years and I’m going to spend the remainder of the year, at least, back home to replenish and to wreak mayhem somewhere that’s not used to it already.

So I’ll be moving during the next week and you’re not likely to hear from me until longabouts next Monday or so. Take care, have a great week, and I’ll dispatch further from the Heart of Dixie when I get there. Eastward, ho!

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. NomDebPlume said, on 10/17/06 at 2:58 pm

    Have a safe trip, Curt…

    ~ Debi

  2. zilla said, on 10/19/06 at 6:16 am

    Safe trip, and if you’re driving and happen to pass The World’s Largest Ball of String, do take a picture!

  3. Leland said, on 10/19/06 at 8:10 am

    You’re going back to AL?? Have a great trip, and I MIGHT be down there for one of the holidays coming up. Is there a way I can get in touch with you if I do?

  4. Bluebear2 said, on 10/19/06 at 7:54 pm

    Have a big platter of fried chicken and grits for me!

  5. Skip Conover said, on 10/20/06 at 1:28 pm

    I just had an e-mail for a conservative friend, who lives in Alabama, who was expressing doubts about Republicans. He got scared when the President signed away Habeas Corpus in the Military Commissions Act of 2006. Will Alabama turn blue in a landslide? Whisper who dares ….. (;-)

    Don’t forget to register to vote right away!

  6. Gracie said, on 10/22/06 at 11:10 pm

    Enjoy!

    Here is something I think you’ll be interested in reading at some point – have the kleenex ready!

    http://www.counterpunch.org/zirin10202006.html

  7. tellitlikeitis said, on 10/23/06 at 8:57 am

    I’ll check it out. Thanks, Gracie!

  8. tellitlikeitis said, on 10/23/06 at 8:59 am

    That’s a great reminder, Skip. I certainly will dare to whisper, and then some (by the way, you’ve got me saying that all the time now!)

  9. tellitlikeitis said, on 10/23/06 at 9:12 am

    Hey, Leland—yes, I will be here until the end of the year, most likely. My comcast email is out, but you can reach me at tonalatonal AT hotmail DOT com any old time.

    Bear—are cheese grits okay? :-)

  10. tellitlikeitis said, on 10/23/06 at 9:14 am

    AND: I’m eventually going to stop commenting on this post (although it seems to get more fun with every new addition)—but I wanted to say thanks to everyone for your warm wishes and to let you know that it means a lot. So thanks!

    I can’t believe it’s freezing weather here. It wasn’t even this cold in Oregon when I left!

  11. peoplesgeography said, on 10/23/06 at 5:01 pm

    Glad you’re well and back. I can just picture you rugged up keeping warm and eating cheese grits ;)


Leave a Reply

