can’t see the forest

I Have Been Tagged (and not in the Technorati sense)

Posted in Blogging, community, Personal, quirks by Curtis on 12/3/06

A certain friend who shall remain nameless has tagged me. OUCH! :-)

Here are my victims: PPGG, Raincoaster, Griffin, Zilla, Misanthrope Cyclist, and BlueBear.

And here’s how it works: by being tagged, you are asked to create a blog post in which you’d do three things:

List six weird things about yourself. Strange habits, likes/dislikes, et cetera.
Pick six victims to tag likewise. Leave comments so they’ll know what’s up.
Describe how the tagging works.

It’s pretty fun. Here are my six oddities (and it’s really startling how little thought was required to come up with them). They are listed in no particular order:

(1) My Pikachu fetish. I am not really into animé. I do enjoy cartoons generally, but I just can’t keep up with all of the -mons and what not. However, I have long felt strangely attracted—I might even say electromagnetically attracted—to that cute, yellow, blushing, chirping, ultra-high-voltage monster called Pikachu. While I know virtually nothing about Pokémon, I have a number of idolatrous likenesses of Pikachu placed in strategic locations throughout my dwelling…and every now and then I say goodnight to each of them. Also, occasionally, I will gather them all together and speak to them in my own version of a Pikachu voice. You’re never coming back to this blog again, are you?

(2) My breakfast concoction. While my breakfast usually consists solely of lots and lots of very strong coffee, I sometimes make bacon and eggs or a bowl of cereal. Every so often, though, I like to prepare an ultra-special breakfast dish which I learned from a girlfriend in high school. Here’s how it’s done: take corn flakes or something similar. Add milk, but less than you would normally use for cereal. Drench with maple syrup. Cook 4-6 strips of bacon and dice. Mix the bacon in with the cereal, and microwave on high for 2-3 minutes. Yum.

(3) My vocal tic. Although I seemed to mostly grow out of it during adolescence, I haven’t completely shaken it. I have a strange vocal ‘tic’ that works like this: After speaking a sentence, I will very softly, in a whisper, repeat to myself the last syllable or two of that sentence. I don’t know why I do this—as I said, I don’t do it anywhere nearly as much in adulthood as I did in childhood, but it used to require a great deal of conscious effort to prevent it. Pretty wild…

(4) My social anxiety. It’s horrible. I have never had a fear of public speaking, and I don’t experience even the slightest nervousness in performing as a musician in front of hundreds or thousands of people, but attending even small social gatherings—family or not—usually produces a depth and intensity of anxiety that is difficult to control. It causes me to misspeak and to make awkward movements. Sometimes I stand in one place for an hour without budging. When someone speaks to me, I’m likely to squeak or jump, or both. Alcohol seems to help, but who wants that for a cure?

(5) My freakish knowledge of Sindarin. I truly believe the vernacular Elvish of Tolkien’s Middle Earth to be one of the most beautiful languages ever created, in sound and in symmetry. So, I like to speak it, if only to myself. I won’t claim fluency on par with a Legolas or a Galadriel, but I’m pretty good with Sindarin for a Man of Numénor, let me tell you. And it’s much more civilized than, say, Klingon.

(6) My obsession with frisbee in the dark. I’m an outdoorsy person—I like to go for at least two 10-mile+ hikes in a week, I enjoy lawn work and gardening, and I’m fantastically obsessed with frisbee (but not with frisbee golf, which I think is lame.) My favorite mode of frisbee-tossing requires total darkness, preferably under clear skies when the moon is new. I actually discovered it only a few months ago, on a camping trip in the middle of the Oregon wilderness, and shortly thereafter I procured a glow-in-the-dark disc that has since come to figure heavily in my noctural existence. It’s difficult to find people to play with me here in Alabama in the winter, since they tend to think it actually gets cold here at night (sheesh!). But me like, me like. Me think about way too much.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. zilla said, on 12/3/06 at 11:09 am

    Fabulous! Be still my heart, you’re so incredibly weird! I’ll be joining the fun sooner than later, I hope. ‘Til then, can you confirm or deny that it was here where I read the brilliant explanation of why neither God nor religion are valid elements of an ethical debate?

  2. Curtis said, on 12/3/06 at 11:15 am

    Mmmm…probably not here, or at least, it doesn’t sound specifically familiar to a post I’ve done. Feel free to search around the blog, if you’d like—but it is a topic worthy of exploration in a big way and I would agree with that statement entirely.

  3. Julaybib said, on 12/3/06 at 1:30 pm

    The statistician who suggested 1% of the population is on the autistic spectrum (most being of normal intelligence) clearly had you in mind. And me, too, incidentally.

  4. Gracie said, on 12/3/06 at 2:16 pm

    Haha, I didn’t think you’d find it too daunting a task so you were one of the lucky victims, Curt. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading about the “weirdness” of fellow bloggers over the past few days and that now includes you.

    Thanks for being so good natured about it.

  5. Curtis said, on 12/3/06 at 2:49 pm

    Well, I thought it was a very fun idea and I was only too glad to explore the darkest and cobwebbiest regions of my haunted psyche. Thank you for thinking of me!

  6. Curtis said, on 12/3/06 at 3:34 pm

    And thank you very much, julaybib, for not saying disorder. I absolutely hate that.

  7. Gracie said, on 12/3/06 at 6:17 pm

    OOPS, I forgot in my initial post to include links to the “victims” sites so will add that now. At least people can read about each other’s cobwebbiest side (love that word) together. What a day! :)

  8. Agent 99 said, on 12/3/06 at 9:56 pm

    Well, I’m glad you tagged Bluebear2 instead of me, because I have no cobwebbiest sides! And I don’t even know enough bloggers. I must say, you are darn weird. Most excellent. Carry on.

  9. Bluebear2 said, on 12/4/06 at 9:32 am

    Hmmm. So now your going to make me have to think. ;)

  10. raincoaster said, on 12/4/06 at 2:51 pm

    The difficulty would be coming up with six facts about me that are NOT weird. This is dead easy.

  11. […] Like a roving orca, raincoaster has been tagged. Fortunately for the tagger, she had just eaten and wasn’t feeling particularly carnivorous, or she’d have gone all Shamu on his ass. […]

  12. nathan said, on 12/5/06 at 9:26 am

    My son does that murmuring thing, too. I’ve long identified with the autistic side of the spectrum. He’s a lot like me.

    That breakfast sounds like an abomination.

    What’s wrong with alcohol? Mmm, beer… argllglgllll…

    Frisbee in the dark, eh? Have you considered Speedminton?

    Oh, please don’t be offended if I don’t play this little game of yours. It’s just not… my thing. ;)

  13. Curtis said, on 12/5/06 at 5:13 pm

    Thanks to everyone for the *very* interesting reads, and no pressure if it’s not your thing…just for fun, right?

  14. Bluebear2 said, on 12/5/06 at 5:56 pm

    Still thinking!

  15. peoplesgeography said, on 12/5/06 at 6:17 pm

    Curtmeister, well I think it is rollicking sport for us students of human nature. I don’t have a problem with sharing my space oddities, especially after you’ve been so generous in sharing some of yours. I started off at 4 I could immediately think of and then of course thought of so many others I found it hard to confine to six. Like a few others here I happily live in EccentriCity.

    So I’ll be sharing the ones fit to print (s’pose I’ll have to stay family-friendly with no libertine confessions (nod to Dr Vic Vega) soon. ;)

  16. mosquito said, on 12/6/06 at 2:02 pm

    I’ve “discovered” your blog b/c you “discovered” me first. You linked to my blog and I checked you out via technorati.

    I am enjoying yout blog and will pop by when I can. In the cyber world VA is really not that far away.

    Buzz…Buzz…

  17. Curtis said, on 12/6/06 at 8:03 pm

    Glad to have you…I thought I heard I buzzing sound every so often. :-)


Leave a Reply

