can’t see the forest

Happy New Year!

Posted in activism, culture, holidays, new year, Personal by Curtis on 1/2/07

A day late, but that’s my style, friends.

I’m somewhat perturbed, this year as every year, by the senseless convention of the new year. It’s just another date on the Gregorian calendar, after all. Given the teensiest shift in historical circumstances, we might celebrate the new year on March 15 or October 4. My point here is: what’s the point?

But, then again, as endemically arbitrary as such a milestone might be, it has its uses. It’s a good time to take stock, to make plans, to eat black-eyed peas and collard greens (with hot sauce, of course.)

2006 was an eventful year for me, and most particularly the past few months. I’ve moved from one side of this fair continent to the other; I’ve entered the weblogging world, through which I have encountered and continue to encounter many remarkable individuals around the planet—including you; I’ve had my crippling nearsightedness zapped away with lasers; and, this holiday season, I’ve reconnected with a number of old friends I’d not seen or spoken with in years. I’m all registered to return to college here in a few days, after a years-long hiatus, and I really need to vacuum out my Jeep. It’s been a busy time, and I’m a little tired, to be honest.

But there’s oodles to be accomplished, and much to look forward to, and perhaps that’s one of the greatest salient points introduced by the new year—that the world stops spinning for no one. It’s a good thing, too. We don’t want to go flying out into space unprepared, now, do we??

Happy New YearWherever you are, I wish you all the best in 2007. I thank you for visiting and participating in this humble page and I look forward to having you along for the ride. Sometimes I have to remind myself that this thing is still just getting started.

Let’s make 2007 a year that will be remembered in the future as the beginning of a renaissance of peace and respect among cultures the world over. Let’s do what we can to send fearmongers and hateslingers the way of the indulgence-peddlers of the Middle Ages.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. servant said, on 1/2/07 at 1:20 pm

    I’ve had my crippling nearsightedness zapped away with lasers; and, this holiday season, I’ve reconnected with a number of old friends I’d not seen or spoken with in years.

    Big Homer Simpson Doh! Why didn’t I read this post first? Congrats on the move and on escaping the eyeball death ray. You are obviously a person of courage to go under the machine! Those things scare me!

  2. Curtis said, on 1/2/07 at 1:57 pm

    Oh, I tell you—I was pretty scared the night before, signing all of those “release forms” with numerous occurrences of the phrase “cornea transplant.” But my fears were unjustified; the procedure was completely painless, amazingly quick, and quite cost-effective in comparison with a lifetime of corrective lenses and the associated fixins.

    Thanks again for being here—I’ve enjoyed seeing you down at PG and I’ll have to add you to the old blogroll if that’s alright.

  3. Bluebear2 said, on 1/2/07 at 2:59 pm

    Hey Curt – Happy New Year to you as well – several days late.

  4. peoplesgeography said, on 1/3/07 at 4:23 am

    Nice lyrical welcome into the New Year, and I loved the historical allusion to indulgence peddlers:

    Let’s make 2007 a year that will be remembered in the future as the beginning of a renaissance of peace and respect among cultures the world over. Let’s do what we can to send fearmongers and hateslingers the way of the indulgence-peddlers of the Middle Ages.

    Hope the recommencement of uni goes splendidly! Five days and counting down, eh?

    Will wish you a HNY again at Chinese New Year – I believe we’re heading into the Year of the Pig at month’s end.

  5. Curt said, on 1/3/07 at 8:56 pm

    Many thanks! That reminds me—here in our little town there lives an eccentric veterinarian with a pet pig named Julia. Julia lives in the house along with her master, and she is spoiled rotten (especially as pigs go.) Once, the good doctor rented a billboard to announce to the community that Julia was with child. Persistent rumors suggested that the father was one Mister Romeo. Why, I remember the year Julia managed to sneak into the Christmas parade.

    I can hardly wait to see what the new year will bring.

  6. peoplesgeography said, on 1/4/07 at 7:44 am

    LOL Romeo and Julia, charming story. Unlike their almost name sakes, and thanks to their wonderfully eccentric vet ‘mid-wife’, they will have progeny, and near the start of the Chinese New Year .. could this be the start of a new Athens tradition? ;)


Leave a Reply

