can’t see the forest

I Can Has Disgusteds?!?

Digg it! | Refer to StumbleUpon. | Add to Reddit | Add to del.icio.us. | Add to furl. | Add to ma.gnolia. | Add to simpy. | Seed NewsVine. | Fark!

LOL Factory

Don’t get me wrong, people—I think LOLCats are cute, too. I stop by to check it out fairly often, in fact. But doesn’t it say something rather disturbing about our society when a blog of photoshopped kitty pictures is consistently the most popular website in the WordPress domain? All over WP, bloggers are like “O Hai! I’m a blogger, writin’ about sumthin’ that actually matterz, lol.” I mean, come on. I’m biting my nails here. Is this a sign that I’m becoming a disgruntled old man?

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. peoplesgeography said, on 6/20/07 at 5:45 am

    Line of the week: “O Hai! I’m a blogger, writin’ about sumthin’ that actually matterz”/

    And we thought ancient Egypt was the only society that worshipped their cats.

    Well I think you’re pretty gruntled to be good natured about it; yes, we all need a laugh and some comic relief but as you convey well, we seem to suffer from a great escapist trivialization in the order of priorities as shown here. I too have been worried that we are fiddling while Rome the Earth burns. What’s the remedy?

    I also visit this supremely innocuous site occasionally and certainly don’t begrudge it its success. I wonder whether it will last though, or whether the novelty will off. Perhaps interactive cute-cat narcissism is set to stay at #1, but things change.

  2. Curtis said, on 6/20/07 at 12:48 pm

    You’re right as usual, PPGG. The site is clearly innocuous and I don’t mean any ill will (although I have noticed that, at least since moving to WordPress, it has become more and more infested with ads and merch pitches). And, as you know, I’m a cat-o-phile myself. So more power to them, as far as that goes, and thanks to you for being the voice of reason. Meow. :-)

    It was just a little venting at the whacked priorities that seem to encircle me, on and off the Web.

  3. Curtis said, on 6/20/07 at 6:31 pm

    And, in all fairness, now that I think about it, I did link to Cats That Look Like Hitler..

  4. peoplesgeography said, on 6/20/07 at 6:53 pm

    :) Hey, the venting was spot on, and if I could nominate your post for Post of the Month I would. More power to them but more power to the serious stuff as well.

  5. raincoaster said, on 6/20/07 at 9:01 pm

    Correlation does not equal causation! You should know this.

    It’s not that WP has gotten dumber, it’s just that they imported this mindless site. Mindless amusements are very popular with people at work who want to give their brains a rest; it’s why blogs were invented, I think. They’re better-adapted to short, unintellectual posts than to longer, more thoughtful ones. A brief glance over the Technorati Top 100 will prove this. Also, the fact that they post several times a day means people check them several times a day. A good, long post will take at least one full day, so it will naturally draw fewer hits to the blog.

    You want disgusteds? Check this out (but not at lunchtime!).

  6. Curtis said, on 6/21/07 at 12:20 pm

    Well, RC, you’re certainly right about that. Lots of short posts does = traffic and I’ve found through experience that there certainly is a place for lighthearted amusement on the Web.
    Okay, lemme finish lunch…

  7. homeyra said, on 7/4/07 at 12:36 pm

    I must say I didn’t know this site, but had a good look at it and had a good laugh – another catophile speaking.
    We can see all that from another point of view too: often those who do nothing are less harmful than those who have to do something!

  8. 99 said, on 7/14/07 at 11:06 pm

    Heh. I usually start noodling around YouTube when I’m too fried for Blogistan. I have some kind of aversion to the frivolous sites. Keep trying betimes to click on a link to one or another of them, but they depress me. Homie-banoo makes a great point though! Some people would be doing us all a big favor if they just wasted all their time. I do love cats to bits, but like them on the huge side. :-P


Leave a Reply

