can’t see the forest

Out of hibernation I creep

Posted in Blogging, Life, Personal by Curtis on 12/4/08

Good grief. I notice now that the first line of the last post says “Happy New Year,” and here we are close to another new year already.

My return to this site is long overdue. I can only say that it’s been a super-duper-hyper-eventful year; that early in the year I decided to slow down on this project a bit; and that, before I knew it, I was on semi-permanent vacation from my blog.

Well, I figure that a lot has been going on lately the microcosm of my life and in the world at large. A month-long winter break from college is as good a time as any to crack my knuckles and get the posts rolling again. I’m curious to see how the site will change according to how my noggin has been jostled around over the past year, and I’m more than ready to find out how my fellow friends and bloggers are doing.

Give me a minute. I’m currently wrapping up one of the largest-scale musical compositions I’ve yet attempted, which I hope will be performed at my college’s inaugural new music festival in the coming spring. It’s a suite of poems from James Joyce’s Chamber Music that I set for soprano and small orchestra. I’ll tell you more about it later.

Being out of touch is bad. I don’t know exactly what the coming weeks will bring, but I miss my writing and I miss my readers . . . and heaven knows, there’s a lot that needs to be said, if only for the sake of saying it.

Thanks and warmest wishes,

-Curt

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ann said, on 12/4/08 at 3:19 am

    Welcome back, my friend!

    What a time to return — WP is due to get a major grand spanking new upgrade in a matter of hours … and I have also ambled back for just a few posts after an unprecedented 4 months out.

    Hope you are enjoying your break from college and that its all going well with you. Largest-scale musical compositions: sounds exciting!

  2. Curtis said, on 12/4/08 at 4:08 am

    Thanks so much . . . I was gonna creep back in inconspicuously, and now I’ve been foiled by the greatest welcome I could hope for–so thank you very kindly.

    I hope all is going well in your travels around the sun and I look forward to doing a better job of keeping in touch.

  3. 99 said, on 12/4/08 at 2:45 pm

    CURT! You’re alive!

    I’d become convinced you’d been killed….

    What!?! You were going to creep back? Aaaaaagh!

  4. Curtis said, on 12/4/08 at 2:54 pm

    Not zees time. No, no, no, no, no. ;-}


Leave a Reply

